The Globe and the Family IV

red rose

As the last post ended with the mention of rose, it seemed natural to begin this one with it.  In the last post I had mentioned that rose is the national flower of England. Well, the information was incomplete. Rose is the national flower of at least ten more countries including the United States of America. The flowers in the image above aren’t from our home garden as we had only desi varieties. I had taken this snap at Lal Bagh, in Bangalore. Rose was and is my mother’s favourite flower. She used to ask the lady who brought small plants to sell in our muhalla to bring rose. Hibiscus cuttings, rajanigandha bulbs and aparajita seeds were brought from my grandmother’s garden but rose plants (not cuttings, but small plants with roots) came through the maalin. They occupied most of the the pots on our parapeted roof top and I did not like their special status. So, I brought in my plants. But before we go onto the details of my plants I must present another set of photographs of water lily.

ppl wlly ppl w lily

As you can see, this one is different from those in the previous post in colour. There’s one more difference: that one was the national flower of Bangladesh, and this one is the national flower of Sri Lanka. Neelotpal or blue lotus is another name wikipedia assigns it. If that’s correct, and if I remember Ram’s Shakti Puja, then this was the flower he had offered to please the goddess. As the 108th flower went missing, he was ready to offer his eye that his mother had called neelotpal due to its colour.

The plants that my mother liked were her plants and the ones that I liked and had brought were called mine. The gallery below has some of those plants. As is clear from the picture of the plants below, my plants were not known for their flowers. Their place in gardens is due to their beautidully patterned, shaped and coloured leaves, and the same reason made me bring them in.

I don’t know the names of the plants in the gallery, other than that of morpankhi or Platycladus orientalis. The purple leaves with grey stripes, the green leaves with white spots, the thick fleshy sword-like leaf and the red and green mixed colour leaves were all in the pots. The sword leaf and morpankhi were in the verandah and the spotted green white in the patio.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

