Badhar Kothi, Varanasi

DSC02628DSC02629DSC02630

Twice in my previous visit to my city was I asked not to take pictures: once at Tulsi Ghat and then in Badhar Kothi. No, I was not wearing or carrying anything that made me be foregrounded: nothing but a small hand-held camera. Still, it was better than the prohibition on entry into Panchkot compound that I had to face the visit before the last one. I could enter the compound and take a couple of snaps of the temple. Or, probably, it was because I had clicked before they could realize that I was photographing the compound in which they have their shops etc.

badhar kothi  temple

So, I could not take detailed photographs of the temple and the compound inside. I had always feared that change would engulf the old and valuable sites of my city. Well, my primary concern was change at the material level. I had not thought much about the same at socio-intellectual level. The prohibition culture towards which I had indicated in one of my posts about Banaras Hindu University has spread to the interiors of the city.

DSC02617

DSC02611

badhar kothi  entrance

badhar kothi 1

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

