The Muslim Banaras

Coincidences happen in stories, and in life. It was a coincidence through which I discovered Shab-e-Barat in Banaras.

DSC07745

Had I not gone to my city, and had I not been predictably and regularly late in returning home, I would never have found a doubly uncharacteristic crowd on the streets that lead to my place. Neither would I have ever found the densely Muslim populated ghats, right from Karnatak State Ghat to Dashshwamedh Ghat. So, I clicked as my camera was hungry for Muslims at ghata. Not only that, I could see crowds on the opposite banks too. Now that was a definitely non-characteristic crowd of any denomination at that time of the day.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

